chemical well

digital art galleries

Not really looking to make a personal website as of yet, but I've been thinking about how to approach archiving and displaying art.

The type of gallery that you'll see most often on JP personal websites for creative work are Wordpress gallery blocks where you can see thumbnails for a set of images. For an example of this, you can check this website's gallery or look at a lot of other websites that use this format on Compass Link. It has a clean look. People usually organize their art under categories by subject or year this way, and it's nice to be able to see what's been uploaded at a glance on one page without having to scroll down. It reminds me of the advice that's like, if you're putting your clothes into a closet drawer it's better to arrange them in way where you can see everything you own at once so nothing can be overlooked.

Tagged blog posts

The other format that I think is pretty ideal for displaying art are blog posts that can be organized with tags, like on this site. 'Course, you don't necessarily need to make a whole website to do this since a plain old Google Site, or Tumblr, or any other blogging service that places focus on images first will do, but it's nice to have flexibility if it's on your own site. I think that while a block style gallery offers the most organization and is better for a portfolio, the chronology and information included in blog posts can make them more fun to browse through, and you get a greater sense of the artist's thoughts and personality since descriptions can jointly accompany the art. Tags also let you easily put any image under multiple organizable categories instead of just one.

Curation philosophy

I think that if I were to set up a website for my art, I wouldn't put everything up and I would only upload what I think is the most presentable. I'd want it to be curated like a museum. But for the sake of preservation and for anyone's who's interested in the smaller and rougher stuff I've done, I can put all of that in a file on itch.io to download.

The way to display my art that would make me the happiest would be to have a gallery where you can filter tags easily, like the one I have in Notion for my OCs. I don't know anything about coding, though, so I don't know how hard it would be to make something like that on a personal website.

#2024 #thoughts