chemical well

read: i want to hold aono-kun so badly i could die

I Want to Hold Aono-kun so Badly I Could Die

I Want to Hold Aono-kun so Badly I Could Die - Umi Shiina

I read this a little while ago, but I just can't stop thinking about it. This is probably my comic of the year.

Aono-kun is a story about a girl whose boyfriend dies, but he comes back as a ghost and they keep dating. I came into it only with the expectation of a basic supernatural drama, but the way that it develops the horror and romance went way beyond my expectations. You just can't stop turning the pages. The characters are funny, have their own oddities, and you feel for them.

There were times that I feared that the story would only have a shallow understanding of the heavy subjects that come up, namely familial abuse and suicide, but it handles them with nuance. It doesn't shy away from difficult situations or the equivalent sympathy needed in response. The folk horror is a treat that couples very, very well with the theme of relationship trauma.

I was impressed by the artwork even if it's not the most technically skilled or appealing. Shiina conveys what is necessary for each scene and the offness contributes to the atmosphere with its own charm. Dark Aono makes my skin crawl.

come with me. come with me. come with me. come with me.

Since we're here, I'm gonna sneak in opinions on two other ghost romance manga I've read:


The Summer Hikaru Died - Mokumokuren

the summer hikaru died

The gay version of Aono-kun. Hikaru's not really a ghost, but... Anyway, I think it's still too early in the story to say whether I really like it or not, but the art is beautiful and so far it's nailed the horror of growing up gay in a small town.


Itoshi no Kana - Yutaka Kanata

itoshi no kana

A short and relaxed slice of life story, though the protagonists do have enough obstacles in their lives to give it a little weight. Very hopeful and cute. Please note that there's a lot of nudity and sex in it though.


#2023 #comic #librarylog